
There are two serious ways to own gold on a blockchain, and about a dozen that claim to be. This guide compares the real ones on the things that decide whether you keep your money: what actually backs the token, who holds the metal, whether you can get it out, and the question almost no comparison answers, which is **whether the token pays you anything for holding it.
There are two serious ways to own gold on a blockchain, and about a dozen that claim to be. This guide compares the real ones on the things that decide whether you keep your money: what actually backs the token, who holds the metal, whether you can get it out, and the question almost no comparison answers, which is whether the token pays you anything for holding it.
That last question matters more than it sounds. Every gold-token comparison online stops at backing, fees, and custody, and none of them tells you which tokens generate income, which pay nothing, and which pay something that is not really a yield at all. We have the on-chain data, and the answers are not what the marketing suggests.

Gold-backed crypto is a blockchain token that represents ownership of a specific weight of physical gold held by a named custodian. Each token tracks the gold spot price, trades 24/7, settles in minutes, and depending on the issuer, can be redeemed for the underlying metal.
The mechanism is the same across every credible issuer. Gold is bought and vaulted, tokens are minted against specific holdings, the tokens trade freely on-chain, and they are burned when someone redeems.
What differs between issuers, and what this comparison is about, is whose gold, which vault, what you legally own, how you verify it, and whether anything is paid to you for holding it.
The mechanics are covered in full in our guide to gold-backed cryptocurrency [internal link -> pillar post]. What follows here is the comparison itself.
All figures as of 12 August 2026. Gold spot reference: $4,425.93 per ounce.
| Token | Backing unit | Entry size | Issuer and custodian | Regulator |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pax Gold (PAXG) | 1 troy oz, allocated LBMA Good Delivery bar | About $4,425 per token, divisible | Paxos Trust, Brink's London | NYDFS-regulated trust |
| Tether Gold (XAUT) | 1 troy oz, allocated bar | About $4,425 per token, divisible | Tether, Swiss vault | None comparable |
| Kinesis (KAU/KAG) | 1 gram | Low | Kinesis, own vault network | Cayman Islands VASP (CIMA #1877923); no securities licence disclosed |
| Gold DAO (GLDT) | 1 gram | Low | Gold DAO, Metalor-refined bars | DAO-governed, no corporate entity; the Swiss custodian handling the underlying gold is separately FINMA-regulated |
| Matrixdock (XAUM) | 1 troy oz | High | Matrixdock (Matrixport) | Parent Matrixport holds a BVI FSC licence; the XAUM issuing entity's own status is currently unconfirmed |
| Monetary Metals (not a token) | Physical, leased | High, accredited only | Monetary Metals | Not stated |
| StakeMyGold (GGBR) | 1/1000 troy oz, in-situ reserves | About $4 per token | GGBR Inc, I-ON Digital Corp reserves | FinCEN-registered MSB, money transmitter, since March 2026 (registration, not a licence or endorsement) |
| Token | Chains | Annual fee | Redeemable? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pax Gold (PAXG) | Ethereum and others | None on holding. On-chain transfer fee applies | Yes, around 430 tokens for bars |
| Tether Gold (XAUT) | Ethereum, TRON, BNB Chain, Plasma | None on holding | Yes, 430 tokens, 0.25% fee, Swiss delivery |
| Kinesis (KAU/KAG) | Kinesis network | No storage fee (0.45% transaction fee funds vaulting instead) | Yes, 100g minimum, 0.45% plus $100 plus delivery |
| Gold DAO (GLDT) | Internet Computer | No holding fee; flat 1 GLDT fee on redemption | Yes, via reverse-swap to a GLD NFT; minimum amount not disclosed |
| Matrixdock (XAUM) | Ethereum, Solana | No management fee (promotional; can change with 30 days notice) | Yes, about 32.148 XAUM (1kg), 0.25% fee |
| Monetary Metals (not a token) | Off-chain | n/a | Contractual |
| StakeMyGold (GGBR) | Ethereum | See product page | See product page |
| Token | Reserve verification | Pays yield? | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pax Gold (PAXG) | Monthly attestation | No | Regulated exposure, allocated metal |
| Tether Gold (XAUT) | Quarterly attestation | No | Liquidity and market depth |
| Kinesis (KAU/KAG) | Semi-annual physical audit (Bureau Veritas) | Partly. Micro-rewards from a share of network transaction fees, not a gold yield | Small denominations, fee rebates |
| Gold DAO (GLDT) | Quarterly on-site audit (reported as KPMG); per-bar on-chain certificate | Partly. Pays in GOLDAO, ICP, or OGY governance tokens, not gold | Governance participation |
| Matrixdock (XAUM) | Semi-annual audit (Bureau Veritas), monthly reserve statements | No | Multi-chain access |
| Monetary Metals (not a token) | Audited financials | Yes. 2% to 5% net, paid in gold | The only mature real gold yield |
| StakeMyGold (GGBR) | Token audit only | Yes. Target rate, adjustable, paid in GGBR | Small entry size, income focus |
A note on where sources disagree. Secondary sources contradict each other on facts they present as settled. PAXG's attesting firm is reported as both KPMG and Withum. XAUT's redemption minimum appears as 430 tokens in some sources and 50 in others, and the latter is internally inconsistent with its own stated dollar figure. Category market-cap estimates published in 2026 range from $1 billion to over $5 billion. We pin every cell to issuer documentation and date it, rather than repeating the consensus.
Six criteria, applied identically to every token including our own.
Backing and custody. One PAXG represents one troy ounce of allocated LBMA Good Delivery gold, held with a named custodian in London vaults. "Allocated" is the important word. It means specific serial-numbered bars, identified to holders, rather than a claim on a pool.
Regulator. Issued by a New York-regulated trust company, which is the strongest regulatory position in the category and the main reason institutions choose it.
Fees. No annual storage or management fee on holding. There is an on-chain transfer fee, and mint or redeem carries its own costs.
Redemption. Redeemable for physical bars, with a practical floor around 430 tokens, which is roughly $1.9 million at current gold. Smaller holders can sell rather than redeem. Be honest with yourself about which of those you will actually use.
Reserve verification. Monthly attestation. Note that an attestation is a point-in-time examination, not a full financial audit, and it does not cover legal encumbrances.
Can you earn yield on it? No. PAXG pays nothing. And supplying it to DeFi lending markets earns nothing either. Fluid's PAXG market paid 0% on every one of the 411 days DefiLlama has tracked it, and Kamino's Solana market likewise paid 0%.
Best for: buyers who want regulated, allocated gold exposure and do not need income.
Backing and custody. One XAUT represents one troy ounce of allocated gold in a Swiss vault.
Regulator. No comparable regulatory wrapper to PAXG's. Buyers are relying on the issuer.
Fees. No annual holding fee.
Redemption. A 430-token minimum, a 0.25% fee, and the constraint most comparisons omit, which is delivery to a Swiss address. For most holders outside Switzerland that is a theoretical right rather than a practical one.
Reserve verification. Quarterly attestation, a lower frequency than PAXG's monthly cadence.
Can you earn yield on it? No, and this is where the on-chain data is most striking. There is roughly $62.4 million of XAUT sitting in Aave v3 earning exactly 0%, and it has earned 0% on all 347 days the pool has been tracked. Morpho Blue's XAUT market paid 0% across 463 of 463 days. Aave v4, Compound v3, and TermMax all paid 0%.
The reason is documented in Aave's governance record and it is deliberate. XAUT was onboarded as collateral only, with borrowing disabled, in isolation mode, because risk reviewers judged it most likely to be borrowed for shorting purposes. A supply rate is paid by borrowers. No borrowers, no yield.
The one exception across the entire dataset is Lista Lending on BSC, where XAUT is genuinely borrowable. It showed 4.88% on the day, against a 1.12% thirty-day mean on a $6.5 million pool.
Best for: traders who want the deepest gold-token liquidity and do not need income or a regulated issuer.
Kinesis issues gram-denominated gold (KAU) and silver (KAG) tokens with a low entry size and 100g redemption.
Can you earn yield on it? Partly, and not from gold. Kinesis pays participants a share of network transaction fees. That is real income, because users transacting pay it, but it is a payments-network rebate rather than a return generated by the metal. It scales with network usage, not with gold, and it is small in practice.
Best for: buyers who want gram-sized denominations and expect to transact.
GLDT is gram-denominated gold on the Internet Computer, backed by vaulted bars. Reported daily trading volume is thin, in the low thousands of dollars, so treat liquidity as a real constraint alongside the mechanism itself.
Can you earn yield on it? Partly, and not in gold. Rewards are paid in governance tokens, specifically GOLDAO, ICP, and OGY. You are being paid in a volatile asset whose value is unrelated to your gold. If those tokens fall, your realised yield falls with them. That is a different risk than it looks like on an APY chart.
Best for: buyers who want governance exposure alongside metal.
XAUM extended tokenized gold to Solana in February 2026. It is a bare gold claim, so no yield.
This is the honest benchmark, and it is not a token at all.
Monetary Metals leases physical gold to businesses that need metal as working inventory, such as jewellers, mints, refiners, and coin dealers. Those businesses pay rent, in gold, because gold-denominated financing removes their price risk and beats dollar debt for a gold-inventory business.
Published net investor yields run 2% to 5%, with gold bonds at 6% to 19%.
This is genuine economic income with a named payer and a real reason for the payment. It is also, for most readers of this page, inaccessible.
A wave of products launched in 2026 offering income on gold tokens. The mechanisms differ and so do the risks.
Here is GGBR on the same six criteria as everything else on this page.
Backing unit and entry size. GGBR represents 1/1000 of a troy ounce, so a position starts at a few dollars against PAXG's and XAUT's full ounce near $4,425. That is a genuine structural difference and the clearest advantage we have. It means meaningful gold exposure without needing four thousand dollars.
What backs it, and how it differs from every other row. GGBR is backed by in-situ reserves, meaning gold still in the ground, held as ION.au certificates issued by I-ON Digital Corp. This is not vaulted, allocated, serial-numbered bullion. It carries extraction, permitting, title, and financing risk that vaulted metal does not. I-ON's own SEC filing states that digitization is currently limited to unextracted in-ground gold reserves, and that the certificates depend on third-party geological assessments, title records, and regulatory permissions the company does not control.
Anyone comparing this row to the PAXG row should understand that difference rather than have it flattened into "backed by gold."
Verification. The GGBR token carries a CertiK assessment with a Grade A score of 82.67, covering four token contracts. The staking layer was audited separately, and that report is now published: no critical and no major findings, five medium, and three centralisation findings, with privileged roles since moved to a 2-of-3 multisig. A second review by Cyfrin is also published. On CertiK's Skynet, the platform scores 91 for code security within an overall Skynet score of 73.69, rated BBB. That gap is driven by project age and by the team not having completed CertiK's KYC verification, rather than by the code.
Can you earn yield on it? Yes, and it is the only row in the table where the answer is an unqualified yes for a retail on-chain buyer. That is the honest headline. The equally honest detail follows.
| PAXG | XAUT | |
|---|---|---|
| Backing | 1 troy oz, allocated LBMA bar | 1 troy oz, allocated bar |
| Vault jurisdiction | London | Switzerland |
| Issuer regulation | NYDFS-regulated trust | No comparable wrapper |
| Attestation cadence | Monthly | Quarterly |
| Redemption minimum | Around 430 tokens | 430 tokens |
| Redemption fee | Not published; disclosed only in Paxos's User Guide | 0.25% |
| Delivery geography | Not stated explicitly; bars are Loco London and London Good Delivery | Swiss address only |
| Chains | Ethereum and others | Ethereum, TRON, BNB, Plasma |
| DeFi supply yield (12 Aug 2026) | 0% (Fluid, 411 of 411 days) | 0% (Aave v3, 347 of 347 days) |
| Pays yield | No | No |
Which is safer? On the documentary evidence, PAXG, because of the regulated trust issuer, allocated storage, and monthly rather than quarterly attestation.
Which is more liquid? Historically XAUT, with the larger market capitalisation and broader chain coverage.
Which pays you? Neither.
Can you swap PAXG directly for XAUT? Not through the issuers. They are separate products from different companies with no issuer-run conversion. You swap on an exchange or a DEX and pay the spread.
Here is the column no other comparison has.
| Token or route | Pays? | Source of payment | Paid in | Indicative rate | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PAXG | No | n/a | n/a | 0% | Bare claim on metal |
| XAUT | No | n/a | n/a | 0% | Bare claim on metal |
| XAUM | No | n/a | n/a | 0% | Bare claim |
| PAXG or XAUT in DeFi lending | No | Would-be borrowers | n/a | 0% on Aave v3 and v4, Morpho, Fluid, Compound | Listed collateral-only, borrowing disabled |
| PAXG or XAUT in AMM pools | Sometimes | Traders' swap fees | Mixed | Gold-to-gold 0% to 0.60%. Gold-versus-other 1.6% and up | The paying pools are two-sided, so you stop being purely long gold |
| Kinesis | Partly | Network users | KAU or KAG | Small | Fee rebate, not a gold yield |
| Gold DAO (GLDT) | Partly | Protocol emissions | GOLDAO, ICP, OGY | Varies | Paid in volatile governance tokens |
| CEX earn products | Yes | The exchange | Token | Varies | You are an unsecured lender to the exchange |
| Falcon Finance | Yes | Falcon's strategy book | USDf | 3% to 5% APR | 180-day lockup, paid in Falcon's own liability |
| Theo and Libeara | Yes | Jewellers paying lease interest | See issuer | Around 2.3% | Newer and smaller |
| Monetary Metals | Yes | Jewellers, mints, refiners | Gold | 2% to 5% net | Accredited only, multi-year lockup, no token |
| StakeMyGold (GGBR) | Yes | Institutional lending via rehypothecation | GGBR | 10% to 12% | Target rate, adjustable. In-situ reserves. Thin liquidity |
Read the "Paid in" column as carefully as the rate. Being paid in a platform's own token is a second credit exposure stacked on the first. A 5% yield paid in gold and a 5% yield paid in a platform's token are not the same product.
Gold produces no cash flow, so every yield in the table above is generated by something other than the metal itself: a business leasing gold as inventory, a borrower paying interest, traders paying swap fees, a protocol paying its own token as a customer-acquisition cost, or an issuer sharing returns from a separate strategy. The full breakdown of who pays, why, and what breaks each one is in our companion guide, how to earn yield on tokenized gold [internal link -> yield post].
One structural point from that guide is worth repeating here, because it applies to every row above. The LBMA's own guidance says a lender of gold retains full credit exposure to the borrower, and that when allocated metal is lent, it becomes unallocated. So no product can offer you allocated, segregated, serial-numbered gold and a yield generated by lending those same ounces. One or the other, per ounce. Anyone claiming both owes you the legal structure that makes it possible.
| Token | Minimum | Fee | Delivery | Options |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PAXG | Around 430 tokens | Not published (Paxos User Guide only) | Loco London / London Good Delivery bars; not explicitly restricted in Paxos's own terms | Bars, with a cash alternative |
| XAUT | 430 tokens | 0.25% | Swiss address only | See issuer |
| Kinesis | 100g | 0.45% plus $100 plus delivery | Vault network delivery; fee varies by country | Physical bars via Kinesis's vault network |
| Gold DAO (GLDT) | Not disclosed | Flat 1 GLDT | Swiss vault; reverse-swap to a GLD NFT, then claim | Physical bar |
| Matrixdock (XAUM) | About 32.148 XAUM (1kg) | 0.25% | Hong Kong or Singapore vaults, settlement in 3 days | Pickup or insured delivery |
| GGBR | See product page | See product page | See product page | See product page |
Be realistic about this. A 430-token minimum is roughly $1.9 million of gold. For the overwhelming majority of holders, redemption is a structural guarantee that the backing is real, not a feature they will use. The practical exit is selling on-market, which is why liquidity rather than redemption is the column that will actually matter to you.
Three different things, routinely used interchangeably.
A gold-backed token tracks the gold price and will move, sometimes sharply. A dollar stablecoin targets $1. Neither USDT nor USDC is backed by gold. Their reserves are largely dollar assets, and the interest those reserves earn accrues to the issuer, not to you. Gold tokens are a commodity exposure wearing stablecoin plumbing, not a stable store of nominal value.
And no, Bitcoin is not backed by gold, and neither is XRP. Bitcoin is backed by nothing but its own network and market.
Fees look small and compound invisibly. GLD's 0.40% expense ratio is paid out of metal because there is no coupon to absorb it. Over twenty years, spot gold compounded at roughly 9.85% a year while GLD returned about 9.43%, and that 42 basis point gap is the fee. Physical bars carry dealer spreads plus storage and insurance. Gold IRAs carry setup, annual, and storage fees, and regulators have documented serious abuses in that market.
Our full five-format cost breakdown, including income, is in the gold-backed cryptocurrency guide [internal link -> pillar post].
Several gold-token listicles currently ranking on Google recommend projects that appear to be legacy, wound-down, or effectively illiquid, in some cases on pages whose own titles still say 2023.
Rather than take our word for it, use the method. Before buying any gold token:
On a centralised exchange is the simplest route. It requires KYC, and the exchange holds the token until you withdraw. On a DEX is self-custodial with no account, but you pay gas and must check you have the right contract address.
For custody, use a hardware wallet for long-term holdings. Leaving tokens on an exchange means holding an exchange IOU rather than the token.
Always verify the contract address from the issuer's own site. Gold tokens are heavily impersonated, including tokens copying legitimate tickers.
For GGBR specifically, MEXC and XT.com are the listed venues. If the goal is the yield rather than just price exposure, the next step is our staking page.
Custodian and counterparty. The backing is only as good as the entity holding it and your legal claim on it.
Regulatory. Rules for gold-backed and yield-bearing tokens are unsettled across major jurisdictions and can change while you hold. We take no position on how any specific product will be classified.
Liquidity. Thin pools mean slippage on exit. Check depth before sizing a position.
Smart contract. Every on-chain token adds code between you and your money. Audits reduce this risk. They never remove it.
Peg and discount. Gold tokens do not always trade at spot. On 12 August 2026 the majors traded at discounts of 0.17% to 1.46% to the metal.
Concentration. For smaller tokens, check holder distribution. A token where a handful of wallets hold most of the supply behaves differently under stress.
Broadly, disposals of gold-backed tokens are taxable events, and in the US gold is generally treated as a collectible for capital-gains purposes rather than at long-term equity rates. Yield is typically taxed as income, and some gold income products classify part of their distributions as return of capital, which alters your cost basis. Rules vary widely by country. This is not tax advice. Get advice for your situation.
Yes. The largest are Pax Gold (PAXG) and Tether Gold (XAUT), each representing one troy ounce of vaulted gold. Others include gram-denominated tokens like Kinesis KAU and Gold DAO's GLDT, and smaller-denomination tokens such as GGBR.
It depends on what you need. For regulated, allocated exposure, PAXG has the strongest profile, with a regulated issuer, allocated LBMA bars, and monthly attestation. For liquidity and multi-chain access, XAUT. For income, GGBR is the token in this comparison built for it, though the rate is a target rather than a fixed promise, so weigh that alongside the accessibility.
Gold-backed tokens are sometimes marketed as stablecoins, but they are not stable in the dollar sense, because they track gold, which moves. PAXG and XAUT are the largest. Neither USDT nor USDC is backed by gold.
PAXG, on the documentary evidence. It has a New York-regulated trust issuer, allocated storage, and monthly rather than quarterly attestation. XAUT's advantage is liquidity, not documentation.
Not through the issuers, because there is no issuer-run conversion between them. You trade on an exchange or a DEX.
On PAXG and XAUT, no. Supplying them to the major DeFi lending markets earned 0% throughout the tracked history as of 12 August 2026. Among the tokens compared here, GGBR is the one built to pay a yield to a retail on-chain buyer, through institutional lending rather than the gold itself. Beyond that, yield requires either a product that lends gold to businesses, a platform that lends against it, or a protocol paying you in its own token, each with a specific counterparty.
Headline rates are the wrong comparison. Judge by who pays, what you are paid in, and what makes it stop. Among the tokens on this page, GGBR is the one that pays a retail on-chain buyer, from institutional lending, as a target rate rather than a fixed one. Monetary Metals pays more consistently but is restricted to accredited investors. A 3% yield paid in gold from a named lessee and a target rate paid in a platform's own token are different products, not points on the same scale.
It has the strongest regulatory and verification profile in the category. It still carries custodian risk, smart-contract risk, and the gold price itself. Gold was about 21% below its January 2026 high in August 2026.
No. USDT targets the US dollar and is backed largely by dollar-denominated reserves. Tether's separate gold product is XAUT.
No. Bitcoin has no physical backing.
No.
Yes. Kinesis issues KAG for silver, and other silver-backed tokens exist. The market is far smaller than gold's.
In principle yes for the major tokens, but minimums are high, at around 430 tokens for both PAXG and XAUT, which is roughly $1.9 million of gold. XAUT delivery is to a Swiss address. For most holders, redemption is proof the backing is real rather than a practical exit.
Disposals are generally taxable, and in the US gold is often treated as a collectible rather than at long-term equity rates. Yield is usually income. Rules vary by jurisdiction, so get advice.
There is no single winner, because these tokens answer different questions.
A pure, regulated hedge with no income is PAXG's territory. Allocated metal, regulated issuer, monthly attestation, and it does not pretend to offer a yield.
The deepest liquidity and broadest chain coverage is XAUT's territory, at the cost of weaker documentation, quarterly attestation, and Swiss-only physical delivery.
Income means choosing a credit exposure deliberately. Monetary Metals is the highest-integrity gold yield if you qualify and can lock up for years and do not need a token. GGBR is the accessible version of the same idea: a small entry point, a named institutional-lending mechanism, and a target rate rather than a fixed promise. Every on-chain yield option, including ours, trades some accessibility for counterparty risk, and pays from lending, fees, or subsidy rather than from gold.
A small entry size specifically is GGBR's structural advantage. At 1/1000 of a troy ounce, a position starts at a few dollars against the roughly $4,425 a full PAXG or XAUT token costs.
The one thing worth taking from this page is that the yield column is where the differences are real, and it is the column nobody else fills in. Gold does not pay. Anything that pays you on gold has a payer, and knowing who they are is the whole job.
All retrieved 2026-08-12.
NOT FOR PUBLICATION — internal review block. Delete before pasting into the CMS.
Three checks. Nothing publishes until all three are answered.